Leave Them Better Than You Found Them

About a year ago, my mom and I were in the airport traveling to my cousin’s wedding. I was excited to be able to spend time with just my mom–as it turns out, navigating an airport is a lot easier with just two adults than with two adults and four children. My mom and I were a little bit tight on time, so we were speedwalking down the hall, chatting and laughing. Suddenly my mother wheeled around and started walking the opposite way, towards a lady dressed in a classy sundress. I stood and watched as my mom approached the stranger.airport

“Hi! I just wanted to say–You have the cutest dress on! You look wonderful!”

The woman’s face, though at first confused, quickly broke into a smile.

“Thank you! You’re too kind!”

My mom smiled in return and headed back to me, and we resumed our walk at a slightly faster pace through the airport.

I asked my mother if she knew the lady, and she responded in the negative.

“Then why did you randomly talk to her?”

My mom’s explanation changed how I go about my everyday life.

“Well, Katelyn, how do you feel when someone compliments you?”

“I feel good, of course,” I responded.

“So do I. I decided a while ago that if I noticed something nice about someone, then I would tell them–because why not? Why would I deny someone that little piece of positivity?”

She had a point. Why not brighten someone’s day? Why not tell a random stranger on the street that you like their shoes? Why not?

The longer I thought about this, the more I decided that I needed to make it a life motto. I’m nowhere near perfect at it, but since then, I’ve been working to make a genuine effort to notice people and to notice their positive qualities–and when I do notice them, to tell them. This has been as simple as me flagging down a guy walking to campus and telling him that I didn’t know him but just wanted to let him know that he looked classy. It’s also been as beautiful as my realization that my friend Brooke always left me in a brighter mood, and telling her so. As I’ve made this effort, I’ve seen my heart become lighter. It’s easy to maintain a good mood when you are constantly observing the positives in others; it also makes it easier to notice the good in yourself.

A few months ago, one of my very favorite people came to visit me–my Uncle Ken (check out his book–it’s awesome!). We often have great discussions about life (and chocolate), and this past conversation didn’t disappoint. I told him about my experiences with my mom and complimenting strangers, and he shared with me a goal of his that I’ve adopted as one of my own. (I am so lucky to be around such cool people, guys.)

“Leave people better than you found them”.

It’s so simple, isn’t it? From when I was first old enough to clean my room, my parents frequently counseled me to leave any place that I went better than I found it. Going on a hike? Pick up some litter–leave it better than you found it. Going to a friend’s house? Don’t make and leave a mess in their room–leave it better than you found it. If this is so easy to understand with physical locations, then why don’t we do it with people?

I want to leave people with a smile on their face. With a lighter heart. With the knowledge that they have a friend. I want to leave them feeling better about life than they were when I got there.

I want to leave them better than I found them.

(For an awesome Ted Talk that has some more great ideas, click here).

 

 

One thought on “Leave Them Better Than You Found Them

  1. I really enjoyed this blog post, and I may just start doing the same thing. A lady complimented me at the store the other day, and I felt great the rest of the day. Pay it forward. 😉

    Like

Leave a comment